This being the first game of the season Carnoustie held a 2 minutes silence at beginning of the match for Jim Waugh who had died during the off season. Jim was the clubs first President when club was formed in 1978. He supported the club well and was always at the side line supporting the players.
Falkirk got the new season underway with Carnoustie fielding the ball and driving forwards. A penalty gained enabled Carnoustie to form a line out at the 5 meter mark. The line out was won and the ball spun out to the backs allowing Mitchell Whyte to break the line and score but the conversion was missed. Carnoustie continued to press but were penalised in the visitors twenty two. The ball was quickly tapped and run out at pace breaking a disorganised defence to touch down under the posts with the conversion added. From a line out in the visiting twenty two Carnoustie again sent the ball wide with Michael Jamieson touching down and converting. Again Falkirk threatened the home line and from a penalty put three points on the board. From a penalty Carnoustie won a 5 meter line out which allowed Owen Hughes to drive over with the conversion missed.
Falkirk restarted the second half by failing to put the ball over the 10 meter line, despite this they soon added penalty points to the score. Carnoustie replied with a strong series of drives before Danny Findlay nipped through to score, the conversion again missed. In a strong period of play both Callum Forteath and Jack Forster added touch downs but both conversions were missed. Falkirk came back to force their way over and add the conversion. Carnoustie fielded a loose kick and sent the ball at pace to across the width of the pitch for substitute Adam Campbell to touch down with no conversion. Falkirk had the final say touching down a try with no conversion in the final minute of the game.
Team : C. Henderson : A. Neil : K. Murphy : D. Nicolson : T. Forster : O. Hughes : A. Franco : J. Forster : D. Findlay : C. Blackmore : V. Galligan : M. Whyte : M. Jamieson : C. Forteath : R. Burton : S. Millar : M. Docherty : A. Campbell.